Chromium trioxide – what's next?

News and status on the REACH authorization of CrO3 by the EU

The authorization of CrO3 is immensely important for the gravure printing industry. With significant participation by the Heliograph company K.Walter as well as the ERA (European Rotogravure Association), leading European companies are driving this process in the EU. Here’s the current situation.

 

Together with the EU Member States, the EU Commission is still hard at work on the authorization of CrO3 for the gravure cylinder manufacturing industry (some other applications for special and individual applications have already been successfully adopted). The next decisions for gravure printing in the Functional Chrome Group are planned for June 2017. Whether something will actually be decided at this time is not certain. If not, the authorization decision could first be announced after the deadline for CrO3 use on September 21, 2017 (sunset date).

 

For all downstream users who are directly or indirectly supplied by the seven applicants and their distributors, such as K.Walter, nothing would change at first. They could continue usage until the final decision of the European Commission; further use of CrO3 by K.Walter customers is thus ensured.

 

If the authorization is definitively granted, downstream users, including K.Walter customers would have to report their use of chromium trioxide to the ECHA. This would have to happen within three months after a company received a delivery of CrO3 with the new safety data sheet, including authorization number. It would be obligatory for the company to comply with the conditions, which will be part of the authorization document.

 

To ensure that users in the gravure printing industry carry out the correct actions, K.Walter and the ERA will write a detailed manual describing all processes as well as all regulations that must be observed.

SUBSCRIPTION

NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTION

Chromtrioxid – wie geht es weiter?

News und Status zur REACH Autorisierung von CrO3 durch die EU

Die Autorisierung von CrO3 ist zurzeit ein immens wichtiges Thema für die Tiefdruckindustrie. Unter maßgeblicher Mitarbeit von dem Heliograph-Unternehmen K.Walter und auch der ERA (European Rotogravure Association) treiben führende europäische Unternehmen diesen Prozess bei der EU voran. Hier der aktuelle Stand.

 

Zusammen mit den EU-Mitgliedstaaten beschäftigt sich die EU-Kommission nach wie vor intensiv mit der Autorisierung von CrO3 für den Bereich Tiefdruckzylinderherstellung (einige andere Anwendungen für spezielle und individuelle Nutzungen sind bereits erfolgreich verabschiedet). Die nächsten Entscheidungen für den Tiefdruck in der Gruppe Functional Chrome sind für Juni 2017 geplant. Ob bis dahin tatsächlich etwas beschlossen wird, ist allerdings nicht sicher. Wenn nicht, könnte die Autorisierungsentscheidung erst nach Ablauf der Frist zur CrO3-Verwendung (Sunset Date) am 21. September 2017 bekannt gegeben werden.

 

Für alle nachgeschalteten Anwender, die direkt oder indirekt von den sieben Antragstellern und ihren Distributoren wie z. B. K.Walter beliefert werden, würde sich aber zunächst einmal nichts ändern. Sie könnten die Nutzung bis zur endgültigen Entscheidung der EU-Kommission fortsetzen; die weitere Verwendung von CrO3 für K.Walter-Kunden ist damit sichergestellt.

 

Ist die Autorisierung final bewilligt, müssen nachgeschaltete Anwender wie auch K.Walter-Kunden ihre Nutzung von Chromtrioxid der ECHA melden. Das muss innerhalb von drei Monaten ab dem Zeitpunkt geschehen, an dem die Unternehmen eine CrO3-Lieferung mit neuem Sicherheitsdatenblatt inklusive Autorisierungsnummer erhalten. Dabei muss das Unternehmen unbedingt die Bedingungen einhalten, die Teil des Autorisierungsdokuments sein werden.

 

Um diesbezüglich Handlungssicherheit herzustellen, werden K.Walter und die ERA für alle Anwender im Tiefdruck eine detaillierte Anleitung, die die Vorgänge und einzuhaltenden Vorschriften genauestens beschreibt, erstellen.

ABONNEMENT

NEWSLETTER-ANMELDUNG