Update on chromium trioxide authorization in Europe.

On December 18, 2020, the EU issued a positive ruling on CTAC authorization. The European gravure and embossing sector is therefore permitted to use chromium trioxide under the terms of the CTAC authorization until September 21, 2024.

 

European users of chromium trioxide must now comply with various regulations such as registering with the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA) and carrying out annual workplace exposure and environmental emissions measurements. To help customers meet the requirements, country-specific webinars have been held and detailed discussions have been organized on how the new provisions need to be put into practice. Information about this can be found here.

 

 

For further help with implementing the new regulations, do not hesitate to get in touch – we’re happy to provide our customers or anyone interested with advice or support. Please contact our project manager Julian Rotter (j.rotter@kwalter.de) directly.

 

To ensure chromium trioxide can continue to be used even after the CTAC authorization period, and therefore beyond 2024, K.Walter worked intensively last year on the ChromeXtend authorization application. This application, tailored specifically to the gravure and embossing sector, aims to safeguard hard chrome plating using chromium trioxide for the long term, beyond CTAC.

 

Initial discussions with the ECHA before submitting the application went well and there was very positive feedback on the extensive survey in the industry last year. We are now pleased to announce that K.Walter has completed the application and submitted it to the ECHA in February. The ChromeXtend authorization application has requested an authorization period of 12 years. A decision on authorization and its ultimate duration is expected between the start and middle of 2023.

SUBSCRIPTION

helioscope NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTION

Update zur Chromtrioxid Autorisierung in Europa

Am 18. Dezember 2020 erfolgte die positive Autorisierungsentscheidung der EU über CTAC. Damit ist der europäischen Tiefdruck- und Prägeindustrie die Verwendung von Chromtrioxid unter der CTAC Autorisierung bis zum 21. September 2024 gestattet.

 

Die europäischen Verwender von Chromtrioxid müssen nun verschiedene Auflagen erfüllen, wie z.B. die Registrierung bei der Europäischen Chemikalienagentur (ECHA) und die Durchführung von jährlichen Arbeitsexpositions- und Umweltemissionsmessungen. Um die Kunden bei der Umsetzung zu unterstützen, wurden landesspezifische Webinare durchgeführt und detailliert besprochen, wie die neuen Bestimmungen umgesetzt werden müssen. Die Informationen dazu finden Sie hier.

 

 

 

Falls Sie noch Unterstützung bei der Umsetzung der neuen Regularien benötigen, stehen wir auch weiterhin unseren Kunden und allen Interessierten jederzeit gerne zur Seite. Bitte wenden Sie sich hierzu direkt an unseren Projektverantwortlichen Julian Rotter (j.rotter@kwalter.de).

 

Um die Verwendung von Chromtrioxid auch über den Zulassungszeitraum von CTAC, und damit über 2024 hinaus sicherzustellen, hat K.Walter im vergangenen Jahr unter Hochdruck am Zulassungsantrag „ChromeXtend“ gearbeitet. Mit diesem spezifisch auf die Tiefdruck- und Prägeindustrie zugeschnittenen Antrag soll das Hartverchromen mittels Chromtrioxid auch über CTAC hinaus langfristig sichergestellt werden.

 

Die ersten Gespräche mit der ECHA vor Antragseinreichung liefen gut und es gab ein sehr positives Feedback zur umfangreichen Datenerhebung innerhalb der Industrie letzten Jahres. Nun freuen wir uns, mitzuteilen, dass K.Walter den Antrag fertiggestellt und im Februar bei der ECHA eingereicht hat. Mit der Einreichung von „ChromeXtend“ wurde eine Zulassungsdauer von 12 Jahren beantragt. Eine Entscheidung über die Zulassung und deren letztendliche Dauer wird für Anfang bis Mitte 2023 erwartet.

ABONNEMENT

helioscope NEWSLETTER-ANMELDUNG